Life After Sixth Form

Helping you get that university place or career

Let’s Get Cracking

Leave a comment

Two years ago, I set up a blog to help coordinate all the advice for students, links to useful web pages and so on. Each student in my form also had their own blog to keep me up to date with the progress of their UCAS application, and to share with me their CV, and to work together on their personal statements.

You can see the main blog here:http://ucas0809.edublogs.org/ Some of the posts on there still contain some useful advice and information, I think.

Some students found the blogging platform we used a bit complicated, so this time I’ve decided to use ‘Posterous’ as it is dead easy. All you need to do is send an email to post@posterous.com, and a new blog will automatically be created for you. You can then set it up to be  password protected so that your CV and Personal Statement cannot be seen by others, and you can use it to store any documents or web sites you have found useful, and keep everything together in one place that cannot be lost (unlike bits of paper or memory sticks) and that both you and I can access at any time. This will be especially useful to me when I am writing your reference as I can be sure that I have all the information I need to hand in one place.

Some of you may already have a posterous account. If that’s the case then you can just go into the ‘Manage’ page and set up a new blog specifically for this. Once you have set up your blog, please email me the link and password.

Leave a Reply

